Donegal Politicians Join Forces with pledge to seek justice for murdered child

From Donegal Families for Justice.

History was made this week, when all TDs and a majority of councillors in Donegal signed up to a public declaration of support in an online campaign to  force action in the case of Mary Boyle, which has lain dormant for almost 40 years.

Donegal Families for Justice , is an online pressure group set up in the aftermath of the coroners decision to refuse an inquest into the death of the  6 year old who disappeared from her home 39 years ago.

Child’s Life Sacred

‘A child’s life is sacred and Donegal is a close community.

‘It is simply not good enough that one of our children is lying in an unmarked grave and nothing is being done by the government to either retrieve her body or to find out who killed her.

‘We have a duty of care to look out for each other and each other’s children and that is what we are doing.

‘ Our campaign, Donegal Families for Justice, with a membership of 800 has resorted to lobbying local politicians asking them to submit a pledge in writing promising that they will pressurise the Minister of Justice into overturning the coroner’s decision and grant an inquest as is the norm in civilised countries.

‘In addition we want her to grant a commission of inquiry into allegations of cover up and corruption so that we can bring this case to a close.’

Campaign Support

The following Donegal Senators, TDs and Councillors have pledged written support for our campaign:

Senator Padraig Mc Lochlainn, Sinn Fein
Minister of State, Joe Mc Hugh, Fine Gael
Thomas Pringle, TD, Independent
Pearse Doherty TD, Sinn Fein
Pat The Cope Gallagher, TD Fianna Fail
Charlie Mc Conalogue, TD Fianna Fail

Public Representatives

We will now be calling on the representatives below to act upon our requests to challenge both the Minister for Justice, Frances Fitzgerald and Katherine Zappone, Minister for Children:-

Gary Doherty
John Campbell
Mick Quinn
Martin Harley
Liam Blaney
Rena Donaghey
Barry O Neill
Michael Colm Giolleasbuig
Martin Mc Dermott
Martin Farren
Sean Mc Eniff
Nicholas Crossan
Paul Canning
Gerry Crawford
Patrick Mc Gowan
Niamh Kennedy
Noel Jordan
Seamus O Domhnaill
Michael Mc Bride
Gerard Mc Monagle
Albert Doherty
Bernard Mc Guinness
Jack Murray
Terence Slowey