Charlie McConologue

Charlie McConologue of Fianna Fail was elected after just the first count.

The Quota was 12,218 and he got 12,533 votes.

Sinn Fein’s Pearse Dohery finished second and Pat ‘The Cope’ Gallagher of Fianna Fail finished 3rd.

Fine Gael’s McHugh was 4th and Independent Pringle was 5th.

In 6th place (and there are just 5 seats) is Padraig McLochlainn of Sinn Fein.

So, he may have some trouble getting elected.

Sinn Fein’s Doherty is in 7th place so when he goes out it may well benefit Padraig.

However, in 8th and 9th place there are two Independents who polled well and their votes may well go to fellow Independent Thomas Pringle.

This should be a bot of a nailbiter.


The results after the first count were as follows:-

12,533 – C McConologue (FF)

10,300 – P Doherty (SF)

10,198 – P Gallagher (FF)

8,412 – J McHugh (FG)

6,220 – T Pringle (Ind)

5,742 – P McLochlainn (SF)

4,135 – G Doherty (SF)

3,724 – D Shiels (Ind)

3,580 – T Jackson (Ind)

2,831 – P Harte (FG)

1,914 – F McBrearty (Ind)

1,836 – N Kennedy (IA)

982 – I McGarvey (Ind)

428 – P Flanagan (GP)

397 – M Mooney (Ind)

70 – Cordelia Nic Fhearraigh (FN)

When I hear moe I’ll keep you up to date.