We were sent this Press Release and are happy to publish it. Good luck lads!

Danske Bank McLarnon Cup Quarter Final

Colaisti Inis Eoghain              V          St Patrick’s Downpatrick (Red High)                      

Tuesday 4th February 7.00 pm

Garvaghey Centre (Omagh)

The long wait is almost over for Colaisti Inis Eoghain, as they prepare to take on St Patrick’s Downpatrick (Red High) in the first of the quarter finals of the Danske Bank McLarnon Cup, under the lights at Garvaghey on next Tuesday night (4th February, with a throw in time of 7.00 pm.

Red High, last year’s beaten semi finalists will start the game as slight favourites, as they are able to call upon at least five survivors of last year’s panel, including three of their forwards who featured on the side who lost out to narrowly St Louis Kilkeel. 

Darrach O Connor

 Inis Eoghain will be hoping to include Darach O Connor, who has already featured in the Donegal senior team in recent weeks, in their starting line up. 

Colaisti Inis Eoghain have made a good impact at Ulster Colleges level but will be making their first ever appearance in a McLarnon quarter final and have already surprised a few people by emerging from a tough group, which included two of the pre-tournament favourites, St Louis Kilkeel and St Patrick’s Keady as well as De La Salle to top their group on full points.

Inishowen Schools

The amalgamation of the Inishowen Schools began in 2010, with many of the current squad playing in the Corn na nOg Cup, and since then they have taken part in the Brock Cup while just last year several of the same players featured on the side who reached the semi final of the Rannafast Cup, before going to eventual winners St Pat’s Cavan. 

All schools and clubs in the football mad peninsula have bought into the initiative, which has seen a huge amount of work being done by dedicated coaches and the conveyor belt of providing players for county teams at U16 and U17 has worked well, with several players going on to feature on last year’s minor panel and a few more expected to follow this year. 

Key Players

Danny Monagle, Stephen O Donnell and Tony McCleneghan (0f Moville Community College) are key players in defence for the Inis Eoghain side and there are hopes that at least some of them can expect to figure prominently on Declan Bonner’s minor side later in the year. 

The midfield pairing of Fergal Doherty and Caolan McGonagle who is one of seven Buncrana players who have won a county minor championship medal, will be a major asset, while up front Sean McHugh, John Campbell, Mark Coyle and Kevin McLaughlin will test the Down School’s defence on at least more than one occasion throughout the hour.

Backroom Team

The only worry for Inis Eoghain manager Sean Noonan and his backroom team of Robert Farren, Sean Clerkin and David McLaughlin will be the availability and fitness of Darach O Connor, who is expected to line out for Donegal against Laois on Sunday afternoon in the first game of the National League.  

However Inis Eoghain, have made it to this stage with very little game time from one of their star players, so it will be business as usual for the rest of the panel, with or without O’Connor when the side is named on Monday evening.

Repeat Game

Interestingly, the same schools met back in September during the Pre McLarnon blitz held at Queens University in Belfast, with Inis Eoghain going on to win the tournament, courtesy of three goals from the elusive O’Connor helping to defeat Red High in the final, however that result will count for little on Tuesday night. 

Overall it should be a good game of football with a lot of quality players on both sides, which should help to draw a good crowd to the superb facilities at Garvaghey. 

It would be no surprise if extra time is required to separate the sides, and who knows maybe even a replay.

Colaisti Inis Eoghain:

Jordan McLaughlin, Jack O Loughlin, Danny Monagle, Stephen O Donnell, Aaron McCarron, Tony McCleneghan, Sam Doherty, Caolan McGonagle, Fergal Doherty, Sean McHugh, John Campbell, Darach O Connor, Kevin McLaughlin, Ultan Doherty, Jamie Barr, James Jackson, Jamie McLaughlin, Christopher McLaughlin, Tommy Byrne, Jonathan McLaughlin, Tomas Sullivan, Gary Doherty, Mark Coyle, Danny McCarron, Owen McColgan, Aidan McLaughlin, Shane McLaughlin, Georgie Kelly.

St Patrick’s (Red High) Downpatrick:  

Jonathan Deeny, Mark McGrady, Sean Hardy, James Greene, PJ Davidson, Aidan Fegan, John Yarr, John Bell, Aaron McClements, Ciarney Harney, David McComiskey, Frank Starkey, Johnny Collins, Conor Malone, Owen McEvoy, Stefan Byrne, Patrick Rice, Christopher Magee ,Sean Og O Rourke, Gareth Robinson, Caolan Doherty, Calum Noade, Shea Reilly, Pierce Laverty, Lorcan Harney, John Shields, Oisin Teague, Rory Bryce, Eoin King.

Referee Cathal O Hagan (Tyrone)